Rohit Sharma-Second Indian batter to reach the milestone of 500 fours

Rohit Sharma (captain and skipper) became the fifth batter to achieve the milestone of 500 fours. Rohit Sharma earned this accomplishment against Punjab Kings at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium on Wednesday. The Captain of Mumbai Indians achieved a big milestone during his side’s Match 23 fixture which was against Punjab Kings (PBKS) in the proceeding IPL 2022 season. The captain hit a six off Kagiso Rabada’s to shut the unique accomplishment but lost his wicket in the next ball itself as he got a tremendous top-edge to Vaibhav Arora who was at short fine leg. 

He also attained the milestone of being the only second Indian batter behind Virat Kohli to achieve 10,000 runs in the T20 cricket.

Apart from Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli, only Shoaib Malik, David Warner, Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, and Aaron Finch have accomplished the tremendous figure of 10,000 runs in T20 cricket.

The valorous opener hit 28 runs off 17 balls, whipping five boundaries (three fours and two sixes). Deemed by numerous to be one of the best batters in T20 cricket, Rohit Sharma even became the first Indian in 2007 to hit a century in the same format, in his only second game for Mumbai in the launching edition of the Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy.

Rohit Sharma also holds the record for most centuries in T20Is (4) and is also the record for fastest centurion (35 balls) in the same format. The captain of Team India is also in a top position in the chart of hitting six among Indians in the T20 format with 427 utmost or maximums. Rohit Sharma is also in the third position in the all-time positioning of IPL run-getters scoring over 5.7k or 5700 runs, together with a century and 40 half-centuries.

Nevertheless, despite Rohit Sharma’s accomplishments of hitting 10,000 runs in T20s and 500 fours in the IPL, there was nothing much to praise for Mumbai Indians as dealt with their fifth defeat against Punjab Kings by 12 runs. The whole team failed to chase a target of 199 runs against Punjab Kings as they could only manage to score 186/90 in the game of 20 overs. Even though the captain has to pay off Rs 24 lakh as a fine and other players were fined Rs 6 lakhs or 25% of the match fee, whichever is more descending.

A summary of the match: Brevis got a reprieve on 49 but the right-handed batter was caught on the next ball as PBKS scalped their third wicket of the innings. 49 runs were required off the final four overs, MI lost Pollard’s wicket after the right-handed batter was run-out for 10. Rabada got the all-important wicket of Suryakumar Yadav behind the right-handed batter was caught in the deep. Odean Smith got three wickets in the final over and PBKS attained the victory by 12 runs in the end. Agarwal’s knock came to an end after the PBKS skipper was caught out by Suryakumar in the deep-off Ashwin’s bowling.