Chhath Puja – Rituals & Traditions

Chhath is a Hindu festival that evolved in the Indian subcontinent, namely in Bihar, West Bengal, Uttar Pradesh, Jharkhand, and parts of Nepal’s south. It has acquired prominence amongst Nepali hillside people in recent decades as a result of the effect of southern emigration. Appeal to Surya, the sun deity, is presented during Chhath puja to show gratitude and reverence for delivering the bounties of living on land and to also insist that specific wishes be granted. Lets read more about Chhath Puja- Rituals & Traditions.

In India, Chhath Puja is a four-day festival. We celebrate Kartik Shukla Chaturthi from Kartik Shukla Chaturthi to Kartik Shukla Saptami. There are four Chhaith festivities throughout the year.

  • Basanti Chhaith – Often dubbed as “Chaiti Chhaith,” this event takes place in the Vikram Samvat Hindu solar calendar Chaitra period.
  • Shardiya Chhaith, generally we call as “Chhaith” Barka Pabni, is a large event we celebrate in Vikram Samvat’s Kartika period.
  • Aghaniya Chhaith we also call by the names “Chhotka-Pabni” and “Dopaharka Aragh”. We celebrate In Aghan, the Shukla-paksha Shasthi tithi.
  • Baisakkha Chhath also termed as Chhotka-Pabni, occurs in the period of Baishakh, in the Shukla-paksha Shasthi tithi.

Chhath Puja Rituals & Traditions:

The ancient Hindu celebration of Chhath Puja honors Bhagwan Surya. It is well call to thank Surya for blessing the world with wealth and maintaining vitality and survival.

The Vratti, or devotee, fasts for 36 hours without snacking anything, making the ceremonies and traditions of Chhath Puja very arduous. This article goes through the ceremonies and procedures in great detail.

Day 1- Nahaay Khaay:

Today is the first day of Chhath Puja. While cleansing the whole structure, its environs, and the entrances to the Ghat, the Parvaitin shall take a holy shower. In the evenings, the Parvaitin prepares Satvik Kaduaa Bhaat and offers it to the deity as Bhog.

That’s the parv’s initial meal and the Parvaitin’s final meal during Chhath Puja. Then we ingest meal to protect the psyche from vindictive feelings.

Day 2- Kharna:

On the second day, the devotees fast for a long time without drinking water. After worshipping Chhathi Maiya and consuming Prasad, they complete their fast in the evenings. We call the offering as Prasad. We make it with rasiao-kheer, puris or chapattis, and bananas. Also the Prasad is among household members and neighbors.

Day 3- Sandhya Arghya: 

Vrattis fasted for three days, neither having a drink nor feeding. The ritual components are prepared throughout the day. A Dauri, a Supali, or a metal cup holds all of the offerings. The options include thekua, puri, coconut, banana, apple, orange, and other seasonal foods.

To perform nocturnal ceremonies, people walk to riverbanks, lakes, and even other attractive water features. Also All of the Vrattis, their relatives, mates, and neighbors assemble there to present Sandhya Arghya to the Sun God.

Day 4- Aragh Bhorka:

Parishioners must travel to the riverfront before actual dawn on the last day of Chhath puja to offer an arghya to the sunrise. After then, Chhatti Maiya is tasked with safeguarding a youngster and also the peace and enjoyment of the whole large relatives. Also Devotees sip water and eat a tiny quantity of prasad upon meditation to complete their fast. This is referred to as parn.

Suggested Read: Maha Shivaratri: Importance-Celebration

Get daily updates and trendy news to enhance your knowledge with every topic covered. Including fashiontechnologycurrent affairstravel newshealth-related newssports newsBusinessPolitical News, and many more.

For more information visit Live News Dekho